status check

A progress sheet for Kablooey! showing multiple logo designs.

A progress sheet for Kablooey! showing multiple logo designs.

When I was offered the opportunity to make the logo for an upcoming game — I got excited because they wanted a grunge look.  However, they wanted it in vector!  There’s plenty of grunge stuff out there to use, but it’s certainly not freeware.  I debated for a bit and decided to do it the good ol’ fashioned way – India ink, bristol, and a dirty brush.

After a fun afternoon on the porch, I imported various drips, splatters, and brush strokes into Photoshop and cleaned them up to trace them into Illustrator.  Then I could make them whatever color I wanted!

It behooves me to set myself apart from other artists by looking pro!  As a result, my clients are set up with slick proof sheets showing concepts and progress.  They’re not the most amazing of designs, mind you, but if the sheet looks prettier than the work on it, then I’m not doing my job. 😉

I sent out several proofs for this project – the nice developer made a post about it here: Kablooey! Update

Ink splatters make for some awesome shaping combinations, don’t they?

~ by twobitart on 08/25/2009.

Leave a comment